Comfort vs. Nurture

A wise man once told me that there is nothing better we can do for our personal growth than to get out of our comfort zone.

When we catapult ourselves into the unknown, it is difficult to monitor the point at which the uncomfortable becomes comfortable, and insodoing, creates for us a new comfort zone altogether which runs the risk of stifling our creative spirit. 

Our inner vision takes great care to align, and it is very easy to cloud. 

I sometimes assess my level of comfort in my life to a fault. For years, as soon as I begin to feel comfortable in a place, or with a person, or with an experience, I tend to run away, or sit there stewing in it hoping that it will soon push me away so I will not have to engage in the more active process of physical or emotional egress. 

Those of us who wander the earth, who search for soul-signs and cosmic truths as far as our feet (and wings) will carry us, who revel in the glory of new discoveries of Source and Self, often tend to mistake comfort for something else, or something else for comfort. I read a passage in a book today that helps to conceptualize a crucial distinction to remain cognizant of on our path:

If you have a plant that is sick because you keep it in a dark closet, and you say soothing words to it, that is comfort. If you take the plant out of the closet and put it in the sun, give it something to drink, and then talk to it, that is nurture.

Nurturing spaces, nurturing friendships, nurturing experiences, lovers and revelations, these are a great source of truth in our world. We must remain aware of what forces in our lives are simply comfortable, and what forces grace us with a nurturing spirit that acts as a catalyst for growth.

I am not here to be comforted. I am not here to comfort. I am here to be nurtured, and nurture in return. We all have the capacity to both give and receive, and it’s about time we divorce our Selves from comfort and embrace the nurturing forces swirling all around us. 

