Adrift, and at peace…

This morning I awoke to a remarkable sense of calm.

It is the kind of peace that comes about abruptly, the kind you never expect. In the throes of life’s most chaotic moments it is all too easy to get caught up in the incessant dramas playing out in your life and in your own mind. It is all too easy to forget that sometimes you simply need to push through that chaos, wait it out, breathe deeply and intentionally, knowing that one day the peace will find you.

This extraordinary chapter of our lives is drawing to a close. Soon, those of us who have spent the last year working, living and exploring this pocket of the world as Global Health Corps Fellows will begin to experience life instead as GHC Alumni. For many, this is a welcome and long overdue transition. For some of us, it is both frightening and heartbreaking, an imminent shock forcing us to vacate this cushy GHC-womb we have been growing in for so long.

It feels a bit like graduating university all over again, wondering where the road will lead us next, a combination of excitement and fear and uncertainty, but sadly there’s no one handing us a copy of Dr. Seuss’s Oh The Places You’ll Go to soothe our scattered minds…

All the fear concomitant with uncertain change feels somehow abated today. Sitting and looking out my backdoor at the banana and papaya trees slow dancing with the breeze to the tune of the birdsongs that constantly fill the air, I am reminded of the importance of stillness, of simply being. Of not letting hardship and adversity get the best of you, particularly when there is so much hardship all around you every day that so many of the people here (literally) laugh in the face of.

I am reminded of the importance of sitting here in this doorway. Of enjoying the silence while I have it at my disposal. Of being surrounded by so much love and inspiration that this community exudes every single day. Of simply existing. Of looking out at nothing but green, as far as my eyes can see in every direction.

I love life in this place, and I have no intention to leave, at least not for long. And knowing that I have spent the past year deeply engaging with this country and with communities of people who have welcomed me with open arms is, I recognize fully, an honor and a privilege.

And despite all uncertainty, the gift of having this experience in Uganda has been enough to soothe the soul, and enough to inspire a never-ending feeling of peace.

Today I give myself permission to allow that peace to wash over me, baptizing me as I begin to awaken to a whole new reality awaiting me just around the bend.

IMG_4805

