A Picture is Worth A Thousand Megabytes of my Limited Data…

Since I don’t normally post pictures on Facebook, for a variety of reasons, I thought I would throw a little photo-blog post together so the family can check out what my life has looked like over the past month or so. Like I always say, “pictures don’t do it justice,” but it’s better than sitting here writing about everything. I’m only one man.

IMG_8251

Viola and I worked around the clock for a few weeks on this bad boy – our proposal for TASO’s Institutional Review Committee to get national approval for our research plan

IMG_8150

  Little bro Musa, looking cool as always.

IMG_8192

Allison, doing a disappearing act in the SOUL front yard.

IMG_8214

Demon Bugs. Spotted in my kitchen.

IMG_8228

Making optimal use of drying space while the rainy season does its thing outside.

IMG_8233

New friends…much more enjoyable than the rats and ants I’ve been battling.

IMG_8269IMG_8274

IMG_8316 IMG_8330 IMG_8342

IMG_8351

Images from the UDHA-led outreach event to Serinyabi Island in Lake Victoria. Two teams of GHC Fellows and friends headed out to 2 islands over 2 days, lobbying the local government with petitions and demonstrations to improve (read: create) health care outreach services on these hard-to-reach islands. Props to Heather and Sam for organizing!

IMG_8404

My friend Brooke returned from the USA where she went on national med-school interview tour…and brought us back some long-awaited IPAs. Dogfish Head 90 Minute Imperial IPA. I couldn’t stop smiling as soon as it hit my lips. MMMMM.

IMG_8451

An image from Lacey’s time at Burning Man 2014. I post this because plans are in the works for me and a small crew to attempt the ultimate regional Burner event – AfrikaBurn – on my birthday next year. Unbelievable…more posts to come on that…

IMG_8710

Celebrating Safa’s big 2-5 with Allison, Avery and Viola at Jinja Nile Resort!

IMG_8788 IMG_8796

Hit up the Kampala Diabetes Walk in support of Avery and the millions of other suffering from Diabetes in Uganda and all over the world.

IMG_8866IMG_8861

Presenting our progress as GHC Fellows to the SOUL Foundation Board of Directors. Nailed it.

IMG_8817 IMG_8845

  IMG_8879 IMG_8886  IMG_8943

Celebrating Viola’s Birthday with good friends, good laughs, good food, and of course…a good jump…

IMG_8934…best birthday present ever.
IMG_9024 IMG_9035IMG_9027

 Beautiful family dinner, where Safa made us a personalized GHC chapti. Yum.

IMG_9077IMG_9103IMG_9076

Surrounding myself with some great people – Safa, Viola, Phoebe, and Muganda – during SOUL’s Annual General Meeting.

IMG_9148

Maro showed up at the last minute to finish the AGM off with a bang. And dance with Allison.

IMG_9176

Saying goodbye to our favorite volunteer, Avery!

IMG_8968

Guess who won the contest for designing SOUL’s new t-shirt? Sierra Cameron! This design will grace the back of SOUL’s new t-shirts coming out soon!

IMG_7890 IMG_7889

Painting the latrine at a new partner school in Iganga District with SOUL staff

IMG_7868 IMG_7833

I really started embracing the Amish side. New hats, new hobbies.

IMG_7801

Cha-party with Allison. Standard awesomeness at every meal.

IMG_7759

Standing with the sweet, wonderful Maama Naafa. She has been sick for some time, but we snagged some great photos with her on a better day. Our hearts and thoughts are with her daily.

IMG_7730

Did I mention this beautiful face is coming to see me in December?

IMG_7720 IMG_7719 IMG_7700 IMG_7694

Epic hike in Mbale with GHC fam!

IMG_7640IMG_7674

Just more great times with great people.

I’m sure someday soon I’ll write more about each of these moments. But probably not. Just enjoy the pretty pictures.

No

